Postgraduate Diploma

A Postgraduate Diploma (PGDip) requires 120 points at 500 level (four 30 point papers). This one-year focused programme of study gives a discrete named qualification. It does not involve independent research that characterises most master’s degrees. The PGDip does not normally lead to further study therefore students interested in masters study should enrol initially in a 180-point masters instead.

A student who is unsure of their academic capabilities may be advised to enrol in a PGDip in the first instance. There is the possibility of transferring to masters if you achieve at least a B average in your papers.  Graduates with a PGDip* who want to pursue further study need to do a further 120 points, including supervised independent research, to complete a master’s degree.

* Except those who graduated with a PGDip in 2012.

Qualification Regulations


Postgraduate Diploma Disability and Inclusion Studies
Postgraduate Diploma Education

Postgraduate Diploma Education (eEducation)
Postgraduate Diploma Education (Global Studies in Education)
Postgraduate Diploma Education (Te Rōpū Tohu Paerua/ Māori Medium Teaching)
Postgraduate Diploma Education (Restorative Practices)
Postgraduate Diploma Educational Leadership
Postgraduate Diploma Education (Science, Technology and Environmental Education)
Postgraduate Diploma Sport, Health and Human Performance